23 May 2017

News from Cannes: Biografilm Festival Juries and two important international guests announced!

Eleonor Coppola e Gloria Steinem will be guests at Biografilm Festival 2017 and they will be rewarded with the Celebration of Lives Award. Michael Madsen will be the president of the international competition jury, Federica Masin will be the president of the Biografilm Italia jury and Roger Ross William will be the president of the First Feature Jury.

Silvia Bizio, journalist, writer, correspondant from Los Angeles for La Repubblica and l'Espresso will be guest curator at Biografilm 2017.  Thanks to this collaboration, two important international guests will be in Bologna during the festival: Eleanor Coppola, who will present her first feature fiction film, PARIS CAN WAIT, and the feminist leader Gloria Steinem, who will present an episode from the series WOMAN WITH GLORIA STEINEM, directed by Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy and produced by Amy Richards, who will also attend the festival. Both Eleanor and Gloria will receive a Celebration of Lives Award, dedicated to the gratest storytellers.

Biografilm Festival will also dedicate a retrospective to TELLURIDE FILM FESTIVAL, with a selection of 4 great movies that made their premieres there:

  • MOONLIGHT by Barry Jenkins, Academy Award® winner in 2017 for the best feature;

  • IDA by Pawel Pawlikowski, Academy Award® winner in 2015 for the best foreign movie;

  • INTO THE INFERNO by Werner Herzog;

  • THE ACT OF KILLING by Joshua Oppenheimer.


The Juries of this 13rd edition of Biografilm Festival have been announced too:

The International Competition jury will be formed by: Michael Madsen (president), director; Chiara Griziotti, editor; Clive Oppenheimer, vulcanologist; Anna de Manincor, videomaker and visual artist; Menotti, comicbook artist and screenwriter.

The Biografilm Italia jury will be formed by: Federica Masin (president) screenwriter and producer; Giovanni Cioni, director; Alfonso Maiorana, director and cinematographer; Enza Negroni, director and producer; Giovanni Troilo, director and photgrapher.

The First Feature Jury will be formed by: Roger Ross Williams (president), Academy Award Winner, director; Daniele Orazi, artist manager; Teemu Nikki, director, screenwriter and producer.

bio 2018 sponsor oriz3
bio 2018 sponsor vert3